Many Colorful Doors

washed up

This door by the sea- shore is blue.
In and out flow many people.
As it swings open and closed.
The washroom sign gives directions.
Girl’s right. Boys left.
The beach is crowded.
The summer sun stings my eyes.
Squinting, the sky and ocean meet together.
Running fast, I avoid the heat under my feet.
“Stop, you’re kicking sand up,” someone says.
At the water’s edge, waves cool and wash my feet.
Seagulls caw just above my head.

Outside, the doors at my school are orange.
Each door has the teachers name on it.
When the bell rings the doors open. We go inside.
Orange pumpkin’s and leaves display through the window.
Autumn weather is windy and cool.
My classmates and I quiver outside.
Will this door open soon?
Inside I hang my coat on a hook.
On a low self I put my shoes.

On this door is a purple poster.
The picture displays kids with books.
Everyone knows to be quiet in here.
This is the school’s library.
Today I’m learning about colors.
The librarian reads to us.
Winter white is this next door.
Snow covers the grass.
Adventure is waiting to begin.
During recess and lunch,
sleds are used on the playground.
It’s another snowy winter’s day.

This door is green. It’s a greenery.
This place is busy, especially, in spring.
Inside I see a forest of plants and flowers.
Mom and dad allow me to pick out a few.
Later I’ll help dad plant some.

Brown bear – brown bear.
This brown door is the same color as you.
“Greeting’s” say’s the bear’s sign.
In the morning, people enter inside.
In the afternoon, they exit outside.
Zoo animals do amuse many crowds.
Next, all, these yellow doors are in a row.
A key opens mine.
Mail is found inside.

My class plans a field trip to a farm.
You can see pink piglets there.
Each of their hocks meet back to back.
Behind the red doors the hay is piles high.

So many doors decorate inside and outdoors.

There’s just one more.
This door is Multicolored.
It has pastel splashes of pink, violet and blue.
That’s our class’s art room.
Colors create creative pictures.
Try it some time.

S. Story by poet:  Colleen Kelbert

Leave a comment